The road to earning an Oregon driver’s license begins with applying for a Class C instruction permit. These permits are valid for 24 months, and give beginning drivers the time necessary to practice their driving skills before taking their drive test. Applicants must meet the following requirements to receive a Class C instruction permit:
Applicants must be at least 15 years old.
Applicants must complete a Driver License/ID Card application, available at any DMV office or online at www.OregonDMV.com. This application must be signed by a parent or legal guardian for those under the age of 18.
Applicants must provide proof of identity and residence, as well as full legal name and date of birth.
Applicants who are younger than 18 and applying for their first permit must provide proof of school attendance, completion or exemption. This is done with a Statement of Enrollment from the applicant’s school or from the Education Service District of a home-schooled student, or through presenting a high school diploma or GED certificate.
Applicants must pass a vision test.
Applicants must pass a knowledge test that will cover road signs, traffic laws and other information that a driver needs to know.
Oregon follows a graduated licensing program for those who are younger than 18. The first step in the graduated licensing program is a teen’s provisional license, available to teens that are between 16 and 17 years old, and who have held their Class C instruction permit for at least six months.